Australian Mathematics Competition

Australian Mathematics Competition

The Australian Mathematics Competition was introduced in Australia in 1978 as the first Australia-wide mathematics competition for students. It has since spread internationally, with students in more than 30 countries attempting the same problems. It is run annually by the Australian Mathematics Trust.

This year, on the 27 July, sixty-five Year 3 to Year 10 students sat the competition. These students competed against many of the best mathematics students across Australia.

Our top result was achieved by J Truglio in Year 6 who achieved a High Distinction, placing him in the top 3% of his year group which is an outstanding performance.

Seven students achieved Distinctions which placed them in the top 15% of the students in the competition for their year. These students were:

C Gardiner (Year 6)

X Rajagopalan, J Grant, M Tarala (Year 7)

G Smith (Year 8)

Jacob Richards and Gavin Muir (Year 10)

Eighteen of our students achieved Credits which placed them in the top 50% of the student in the competition for their year. These students were:

K Rohrlach, O Parker (Year 3)

A Gardiner, C Jones (Year 4)

M Robartson (Year 5), J Jaxon (Year 6)

O Downsborough, F Navales, J Willis, S McGinniss, F Sutherland (Year 7)

G Squire, B Jones, K Jaxon (Year 8)

D Navales, L White, K Flanagan (Year 9)

C Penny (Year 10)